The Indian Police Service (IPS) is one of the country's premier civil services. The selected officers are deployed with multiple law-enforcement agencies both at Central and state levels.

Following the British rule, in 1861, the Indian Councils Act, 1861 was introduced that was the basis of a modern and professional police bureaucracy in India that led to the formation of Superior Police Services, later known as the Indian Imperial Police. In 1948, the Imperial Police was replaced by IPS, and a modern police system was created under the Article 312(2) in part XIV of the Indian constitution.

The Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel National Police Academy in Hyderabad conducts training programs for IPS officers. The Ministry of Home Affairs maintains the posting details of IPS officers countrywide. The authorised cadre capacity of Indian Police Service is 4,920. The senior officers lead intelligence agencies such as Research and Analysis Wing (R&AW), Intelligence Bureau (IB), National Investigation Agency (NIA), Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI), and Criminal Investigation Department (CID) as well as command Central armed police forces such as Border Security Force (BSF), Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP), National Security Guard (NSG), and Central Industrial Security Force (CISF).