Team Narendra Modi 3.0: Portfolio of Union Council of Ministers

June 11, 2024 | 17:11:49

Union Ministers like Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari retain their old portfolios.

NEW DELHI: Having secured the numbers to form the government, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), spearheaded by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, had administered the oath of office on June 9.

Union Ministers like Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari have retained their old portfolios but there were some new faces like Shivraj Singh Chouhan, J.P. Nadda and H.D. Kumaraswamy.

S. Jaishankar and Nirmala Sitharaman also retained their External Affairs and Finance portfolios. Notable absentees were Anurag Thakur and Smriti Irani.

Shivraj Singh Chouhan has been given the charge of Agriculture and Rural Development. The Aviation Ministry has been given to TDP's Rammohan Naidu. He will replace Jyotiraditya Scindia. JP Nadda is the new Health Minister. 

The Modi 3.0 took shape on Sunday evening when Narendra Modi took oath as Prime Minister along with 30 Cabinet Ministers, 5 Ministers of State with Independent Charge, and 36 Ministers of State (MoS). PM Modi's new Council of Ministers is 72-strong and comprises 11 ministers belonging to NDA partners - TDP, JDU, LJP, Shiv Sena, and others.

PM Modi has retained top ministers like Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari, S Jaishankar, Nirmala Sitharaman, and Hardeep Singh Puri.  BJP National President JP Nadda, who was part of Modi 1.0, is also back in the Cabinet. 

Those joining Modi's council of ministers for the first time include Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Manohar Lal Khattar, and HD Kumaraswamy. Chouhan is a five-time MP from Vidisha, while Khattar has won from Karnal and Kumaraswamy from Mandya.

ML Khattar, a former RSS pracharak, is two-time Haryana Chief Minister. He resigned from the post of chief minister in March after Dushyant Chautala's JJP pulled out of the government over seat-sharing for the Lok Sabha elections.

TDP's Kinjarapu Rammohan Naidu and Chandrasekhar Pemmasani; JDU's Lalan Singh and Ram Nath Thakur, RLD's Jayant Chaudhary, LJP's Chirag Paswan and HD Kumaraswamy are seven first-time ministers from the BJP's allies.

Jayant Chaudhary, the chief of RLD, joined the NDA ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections after the BJP posthumously honoured his grandfather with the Bharat Ratna. The RLD secured two seats in western Uttar Pradesh – Baghpat and Bijnor.

Chirag Paswan, son of the late Ram Vilas Paswan, won the Hajipur seat, held by his father for a record nine times. His party swept all five seats it contested in Bihar, making a resounding comeback from the tumultuous period following Ram Vilas Paswan's death in 2020. 

Ram Nath Thakur, from the JDU, is the son of Karpoori Thakur, a renowned socialist leader and former Bihar Chief Minister. Thakur is known for his close association with Nitish Kumar and his influence among the most backward classes. He previously served as a Bihar minister between 2005 and 2010.